With the growing need for year-round church services, the Bethel was used for weekly services for nearly ten years until a permanent church was built in 1949. It was expanded in 1956 to its present form.
Mount Tabor came into existence in 1869 because of the Centenary of American Methodism and the popularity of the spiritual revival in the form of the camp meeting. The culture of the community slowly changed as the old camp meeting fervor ebbed over time. Economic circumstances of the 1930s forced more summer residents to make the camp meeting ground their permanent home. Mount Tabor was changing to become a year-round residential neighborhood in need of weekly church services.
Rapid growth necessitated a proper church building and ground was broken in 1948 and the first service was held in the building in 1949. The sanctuary of the new church was opened for worship in July 1950.
By 1956, the growth of the community and the surrounding vicinity forced the expansion of the church and church school facilities to what they are now. In 1968 the name of the congregation became the United Methodist Church at Mt. Tabor.
Mount Tabor stands as an historic shrine reminiscent of the evangelism of another day, which contributed so much to the early growth, and strength of Methodism in the Newark Conference.