Organized in 1869 under a unique charter, the CMA Board of Trustees governed as a municipality until 1980 when it changed to serve the community as a homeowners association.
The first Tabernacle was described in the 1877 Mt. Tabor Daily Record: “…the spacious ‘Tabernacle’ built in the first season. It is a spacious edifice, the first floor of which is devoted to office rooms for the officers. The second floor is used for the purposes of a dormitory and will accommodate about 50 lodgers. The basement is occupied by the family of Mr. E. B. Earles, the efficient Steward of the grounds. On the South side of the building is a preacher’s stand, altar, and auditorium, covered with a broad roof supported by pillars.”