This Second Empire-style triple cottage was built in 1873 so three families could maximize the use of their lot size. The museum occupies the lower one-third originally owned by J. Smith and Lydia Richardson.
The middle and upper cottages were converted to a single residence in the 1950s. No. 32 Trinity Park remained in the same family until 2007 when Evelyn Clark, a descendant of J. Smith Richardson, bequeathed it to the Mount Tabor Historical Society to be used as a house museum.
The Richardson House has been carefully restored with period furnishings and artifacts to illustrate the early Mount Tabor campground life, to educate the community on the proud history of Mount Tabor and the Richardson Cottage, and to celebrate the life of Evelyn Clark and her family who entrusted the Society with this mission.
Today, the Richardson History House serves as a community resource. It is open to the public for tours . It contains a small gift shop stocked with books and Mount Tabor mementos and gifts. The Richardson History House is a valuable asset to the community and an important reminder of Mount Tabor’s rich history.